

BMGT Executive Committee Teleconference Minutes Tuesday, July 17, 2018, 12:00 noon (EST)

Present:

Chair, Arlene Garrison Chair-Elect, Dawn Mason Immediate Past-Chair (Nominations and Awards), Lisa Balbes Mick Hurrey - Treasurer Janet B<u>ryant</u> - Councilor Carol Duane – Alternate Councilor Lissa Dulany – Membership Chair Diane Schmidt - Communications Committee Anne DeMasi - Program Chair and MPPG representative. (Quorum)

<u>Absent:</u>

Barry Streusand - Regional Meeting Committee. Terry Say – Secretary Joe Stoner – Audit Committee Chair

Reports

- Secretary (Terry Say, Absent)
 - o Minutes from the June Teleconference were approved by electronic vote
- > Treasurer (Mick Hurrey)
 - The 2018 budget is in good shape.
 - Audit update—Mick has sent all the info to Joe to complete the audit.

> Past-Chair (Lisa Balbes)

- o Janet is still looking for text for Whalen award for ACS web site.
- Elections nominating committee report. Two candidates volunteered to run for secretary. None confirmed for chair-elect yet, but several are interested.
- Chair (Arlene Garrison)
 - Innovative Project Grant funds have been received–Carol is working to identify and lock in two or three BILL talks:

CERM 2019 (they want to select the speaker),

NORM 2019 (with Allison Campbell as the speaker),

NERM 2019 (Tony Noce is interested in organizing one).

Plus the option for a BILL talk at Orlando 2019 if co-sponsored with YCC (with Mick Hurrey as the speaker).

- Handout for the Annual Business meeting at Fall 2018 ACS meeting 4pm is the correct start time. Mick & Lisa will get the total ACS industry and membership numbers 2004-2017. Janet also found divisional membership data that she will send to Arlene.
- > Chair-Elect (Dawn Mason)
- Planning for strategic planning retreat in San Diego. Proposed attendees: Arlene Garrison, Dawn Mason, Lisa Balbes, Joe Stoner, Mick Hurrey, Janet Bryant, Carol



BMGT Executive Committee Teleconference Minutes Tuesday, July 17, 2018, 12:00 noon (EST)

Duane, Anne DeMasi, Tony Noce, Lissa Dulany, Diane Grob-Schmidt, Chanda Klinker, Brandon Maye, New Secretary, New Chair Elect

> BMGT Programming (Anne DeMasi)

- Plans for Boston
 - Annual Business meeting scheduled as part of Whalen reception at 4pm. The reception is 4-6 pm on Monday at the Back Bay Social Club. The Industry Reception is 6.30-8pm at the Sheraton. Suggestion for the Communications committee to get the PR release to Linda Wang, and Mick will help Anne with the posters. Anne and Janet are working on the roadmap with CIEC.
- Plans for Orlando (Spring 2019) (see email re BILL talk)

Regional Meetings (Carol Duane)

- BILL talks see above in the IPG discussion.
- Communications (Tony Noce not available)
- > **Membership** (Lissa Dulany)
 - Will send out the roadmap and Whalen award info to the newest free BMGT members.
 - Update from Puerto Rico: their industry meeting in May went well, they may repeat it in Sept/Oct timeframe. We will stay in touch.
- Councilor (Janet Bryant)
 - She found the for the plaque for this year's Whalen award, but will need electronic signatures from Arlene and Lisa.
 - The NORM regional meeting went very well.

Old Business

• Lisa: BMGT is the featured division-of-the-week video this week.

New Business

• Mick will write the PR release and get it out.

Meeting adjourned at 1.00pm ET.

NEXT TELECONFERENCE:

Tuesday, September 18th, 2018 12:00 Noon Eastern Standard Time



BMGT Executive Committee Teleconference Minutes Tuesday, July 17, 2018, 12:00 noon (EST)

Elected Members

- Chair, Arlene Garrison
- Chair-Elect, Dawn Mason
- Immediate Past-Chair (Nominations and Awards), Lisa Balbes
- <u>Treasurer</u> (2018-2019), Mick Hurrey, InCarda Therapeutics
- Secretary (2017-2018), Terry Say
- Councilor (2018-2020), Janet Bryant, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory
- <u>Alternate Councilor</u> (2018-2020), Carol Duane

Appointed Members

- <u>Communication</u>, Tony Noce
- Membership, Lissa Dulany
- Program Chair, Anne DeMasi, LANXESS

Non-voting

- MMPG rep, Anne DeMasi, LANXESS
- Carol Duane, Regional Meetings chair
- Barry Streusand, Regional Meeting committee and audit committee
- Diane Schmidt, Communications committee
- Joe Stoner, Audit Committee Chair