

## **Present:**

Dawn Mason - Chair-Elect
Lisa Balbes - Immediate Past-Chair (Nominations and Awards)
Mick Hurrey – Treasurer
Terry Say – Secretary
Janet Bryant - Councilor
Lissa Dulany – Membership Chair
Diane Schmidt - Communications Committee
Joe Stoner – Audit Committee Chair
(Quorum)

#### Absent:

Arlene Garrison - Chair Carol Duane – Alternate Councilor Barry Streusand - Regional Meeting Committee Matthew Grandbois – Communications Chair Anne DeMasi - Program Chair and MPPG representative

## <u>Reports</u>

# > **Secretary** (Terry Say)

- Minutes from the July Teleconference and the Annual Meeting were approved.
- o Minutes from the 2017 Annual Meeting were approved at the 2018 Annual Meeting

## > Treasurer (Mick Hurrey)

- Mick has answered questions from the Audit Team. Anticipates audit to be completed soon.
- Mick needs input for the 2019 budget.

## Past-Chair (Lisa Balbes)

- Janet has not been able to find any more information about the Whalen award for the ACS web site. No more work will be carried out.
- Elections nominating committee report. Two candidates volunteered to run for secretary and one for Chair-Elect. The Electoral Role has been received from ACS and the election will be started on October 8<sup>th</sup>, using Survey Monkey. Terry Say is running the election.

## Chair (Dawn Mason for Arlene Garrison)

- We are eligible to apply for an IPG for Strategic Planning, due Feb 1, 2019, to DAC, value \$5K.
- o ComSci is looking for nominations from BMGT, but no-one is interested.
- Tony Noce has joined the ACS professionally so is no longer available to be BMGT Communication Chair. Matthew Grandbois has agreed to take the position. He is also on the YCC. The BMGT email address for this position has been changed to Matthew.



## Chair-Elect (Dawn Mason)

 Planning for strategic planning retreat in San Diego. Proposed attendees: Arlene Garrison, Dawn Mason, Lisa Balbes, Joe Stoner, Mick Hurrey, Janet Bryant, Carol Duane, Anne DeMasi, Matthew Granbois, Lissa Dulany, Diane Grob-Schmidt, Chanda Klinker, Brandon Maye, New Secretary, New Chair Elect. The event will be held prior to the Fall Meeting in 2019 in San Diego. Everyone is good to go.

A questionnaire will be sent out ahead of time for discussion topics

# BMGT Programming (Dawn Mason for Anne DeMasi)

o Plans for Orlando, Spring 2019

I&EC, SChB ACS: The Place to Do Business

Orlando - BILLTalk Mick Hurrey

I&EC Mid-career

1/2 Day Women in Innovation

1/2 to full Day Academic/ Industrial Partnerships (Presidential Symposium)

1/2 Day Chemical Angel Network

# Regional Meetings (Dawn Mason for Carol Duane)

NORM is a go. Allison Campbell is the BILL talk speaker.

CERM - Still negotiating speaker with CERM.

NERM cancelled due to insufficient funds.

## Communications (Matthew Grandbois – not available)

# Membership (Lissa Dulany)

- o Following up on new members signed up at the Whalen Award.
- Update from Puerto Rico: Another Senior Chemist Science Meeting planned for November. It will be held on a Friday (poster session) and Saturday (Academia Industrial Interface)

## Councilor (Janet Bryant)

o Report from Council Meeting, Boston:

Attendance in Boston 14.000

Discussion on floor of Council regarding sexual harassment

ACS Membership is declining

Discussion on International Chapters

Streamlining of Governing Documents is in process

#### Old Business

o Joe reported progress on the Audit.

#### New Business

 Lisa will forward a Survey requesting ideas from us as to what support Divisions want from National.



- Diane discussed Pacifichem 2020 and whether BMGT was interested in programming there.
- Diane reported on CIEC. ACS has been approached for feedback on survey. To be discussed at a one day meeting in DC in October.

Meeting adjourned at 12.58pm ET. Proposed by Diane, seconded by Lisa.

#### **NEXT TELECONFERENCE:**

Tuesday, October 16th, 2018
12:00 Noon Eastern Standard Time

#### List of Exec committee and committee chairs

#### **Elected Members**

- Chair, Arlene Garrison
- Chair-Elect, Dawn Mason
- Immediate Past-Chair (Nominations and Awards), Lisa Balbes
- Treasurer (2018-2019), Mick Hurrey, InCarda Therapeutics
- Secretary (2017-2018), Terry Say
- Councilor (2018-2020), Janet Bryant, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory
- Alternate Councilor (2018-2020), Carol Duane

#### **Appointed Members**

- Communication, Matthew Grandbois
- Membership, Lissa Dulany
- Program Chair, Anne DeMasi, LANXESS

### Non-voting

- MMPG rep, Anne DeMasi, LANXESS
- Carol Duane, Regional Meetings chair
- Barry Streusand, Regional Meeting committee and audit committee
- Diane Schmidt, Communications committee
- Joe Stoner, Audit Committee Chair

