

## Executive Committee Teleconference Report Wednesday, 2019 July 22 12:00 noon (Eastern Time)

Number Used for the Call: (605)-313-5086, passcode 2468324

**Attendees:** Dawn Mason (Chair), Mick Hurrey (Treasurer), Janet Bryant (Councilor & Program Administrator), Carol Duane (Alternate Councilor & Regional Meeting Coordinator), Matthew Grandbois (Communications Chair), Anne DeMasi (Program Chair), Diane Grob Schmidt (Chair-elect), Arlene Garrison (Past-Chair)

**Absent:** Thomas Colacot (Secretary), and Lisa Balbes (Webmaster), Lissa Dulany (Membership Chair)

Dawn Mason, chaired meeting. Action items in yellow.

- Secretary (Dawn Mason for Thomas Colacot)
  - Minutes from June moved by Mick and seconded by Janet; approved unanimously. Secretary will email the copy to Lisa to post the final report.
- Treasurer: (Mick Hurrey)
  - Leslie Edwards was reimbursed for registration fee for Bonnie's symposium
  - Spring and Fall Industry Networking Events were paid
  - Carol's expenses for CERM were paid
  - Restricted funds for M3 conference were transferred to main account and used to pay for advertisement of 2020 conference (\$5,000)
  - Confirmed that lodging was in the budget for Janet at NORM and will be paid
  - Questions regarding CA Seed grant were generated and are being tracked down (Anne)
- Past-Chair (Arlene Garrison) Absent
  - Corrected division report card deferred until August
  - Operations handbook is considered complete with the exception of Lissa's part, she will continue to be pestered. (Arlene)
  - Lisa will load onto website when she returns
  - Elections
    - Matt will run as Chair
    - Mick will run as Treasurer
    - Will go from Dec. 1 walk-back date to get election material out & work with Lissa to send out poll (Arlene & Lissa)
    - Jim Tung interested in becoming more active (Dawn will follow up with him)
  - IPG Report
    - Draft is coming together and will be submitted to Chem Luminary



## Executive Committee Teleconference Report Wednesday, 2019 July 22 12:00 noon (Eastern Time)

- Chair (Dawn Mason)
  - Strategic planning retreat arrangements are going well, but not updated the time, breakfast and lunch.
  - Annual Business Meeting in San Diego is planned for Aug 27<sup>th</sup> 5:30 pm
    - Mick will put together a financial report for the annual meeting
    - BMGT Members who are ACS Fellows and Janet will be honored.
  - Co-program chair future thoughts: one for spring & one for fall
  - BMGT work space set up progress? Still an action item
  - Janet to identify BMGT Fellows and Lisa to post on website when she returns
  - Mick will attend Fellows reception as BMGT representative
- Chair-Elect (Diane Schmidt)
  - Will be giving an I&EC talk on the transforming power of clean water in San Diego (All - go if you can!!!)
  - Reminded everyone of upcoming elections and those running include Carol Duane and Dawn Mason
- BMGT programming (Anne)
  - San Diego: 4 symposia: CAN Sun PM, LDS 10 yr. Mon PM, University-Industry Relationships Tues PM, Business of Water with I&EC, SCHB – Mon AM & PM
  - 2020 Program Plans (Janet)
    - Fall 2020 MPPG plans (Janet) MEDI symposium with BMGT on the docket.
    - Heroes Symposium
  - Website is coming soon
- Regional Meetings (Carol Duane)
  - Janet moved to post the BILL talk on BMGT web-site, Diane second and the motion passed.
  - Carol will check in with ACS prior to this being loaded
- Communications (Matthew Grandbois)
  - Will bring agendas to open meeting and send out information ahead of time
  - Will get Membership application and BMGT promo sheets to BMGT symposium
- ➤ Membership (Lissa Dulany) absent.
- Councilor (Janet Bryant) –
- o Councilor's report Agenda book is out.

C

Old Business No time

New Business - No time



# Executive Committee Teleconference Report Wednesday, 2019 July 22 12:00 noon (Eastern Time)

Wednesday, August 21, 2019 12:00 Noon Eastern Time

### List of Exec committee and committee chairs

#### **Elected Members**

- Chair, Dawn Mason
- Chair-Elect, Diane Schmidt
- Immediate Past-Chair (Nominations and Awards), Arlene Garrison
- Treasurer (2018-2019), Mick Hurrey
- Secretary (2019-2020), Thomas Colacot
- Councilor (2018-2020), Janet Bryant
- Alternate Councilor (2018-2020), Carol Duane

### **Appointed Members**

- Communication, Matthew Grandbois
- Membership, Lissa Dulany
- Program Chair, Anne DeMasi, LANXESS

#### Non-voting

- MMPG rep, Anne DeMasi, LANXESS
- Carol Duane, Regional Meetings chair
- Diane Schmidt, Communications committee and 2019 chair-elect