

Executive Committee Teleconference Report Wednesday, 2019 November 20 12:00 noon (Eastern Time)

CALL IN AT (605)-313-5086 PASSCODE: 2468324#

Dawn Mason, chaired the session.

Attendees: Mick, Janet, Dawn, Ann, Thomas, Lisa, Matt,

Absentees: Diane, Arlene and Carol

- Secretary (Thomas Colacot) (3 min.)
 - o Minutes from October meeting approval all three approved and posted on the website.
 - Official announcement.
- > Treasurer: (Mick Hurrey) (3 min.)
 - Received and paid invoice to ACS for Fall 2019 National meeting expenses. Payment to Tony Boccanfuso for travel reimbursement for Fall 2019 expenses mailed for third time. M3 2020 has been confirmed for June 7-10, 2020 in Limerick, Ireland. There are 19 speakers planned (15 confirmed). This conference will use the restricted funds and will not cost the division and will provide BMGT revenue (TBD – based on fundraising).
- Past-Chair (Arlene Garrison) (10 min.)
 - Corrected division report card
 - Elections conducted and certified by the secretary. ACS was notified about the new 2020 officers.
- Chair (Dawn Mason) (10 min.)
 - BMGT work space set up progress. Work space is complete on the ACS Network. It is private.
 - Strategic Retreat Project Plan: Elevator speech Dawn will put it on the network _ we will work off-line and discuss the various versions and finalize it during the December meeting.
 - Whalen Award Update invited prior nominees to re-nominate. Will advertise in C&E News. Award is will be at the Fall, San Francisco meeting. Anne is responsible for getting venue. Janet and Anne will talk about the programming grid.
 - Leadership Institute Jan. 24 26: Matt to defer until next year
- Chair-Elect (Diane Schmidt)
- ➤ BMGT programming (Anne) (5 min.)
 - 2020 Program Plans (Janet &Ann) former heroes of chemistry will not conflict with CAN (future heroes). Informed C&E News- theme is chemistry from bench to market.
 - Fall 2020 MPPG plans (Janet)
 - CA Seed Grant forms and slide for recognition sent from CA
- Regional Meetings (Carol Duane) (5 min.)
- Communications (Matthew Grandbois, Jim Tung) (5 min.)
 - Have we sent anything out re. Mission/ Vison after the retreat? Dawn confirmed. Matt will send it to ACS and group.



Executive Committee Teleconference Report Wednesday, 2019 November 20 12:00 noon (Eastern Time)

- Kavli nomination from BMGT recommendation submitted. Joint nomination bmgt and corporate associates – chemistry bench to market.
- BMGT portal ACS network (Jim was not on the call. Working on Whalen Award.) and plan to redo website. Getting help from CPRC make over, but will not wait for too long.
- Membership (Lissa Dulany)
 - o QR code for membership at next meeting? (discuss in Dec.)
- ➤ Webmaster (Lisa Balbes) (2 min.) Whalen award, all minutes posted to be up to date.
- Councilor (Janet Bryant) 5 min.
 - Councilor's report
 Election announcement went out. Lot of changes. It will impact division. Early registration is open. For ACS hotel reservation one has to register.

Old Business

- By-laws review Janet (2 min.; discuss in Dec.)
- IPG ideas Janet, Anne, Diane ideas for Feb. IPG (5 min.) program for Feb 1st moving forward.
 - Fall IPG consider Strategic Plan strategy around communications and website.
- Records retention policy Arlene and Janet to formulate (3 min.; discuss in Dec.) had a meeting- archives for permanent retention of policies.
- Succession planning
 - Vishnu Rajasekharan needs a follow up Dawn to contact

New Business

- On-line, in person forum? Jim's idea (5 min.)
- In Mick's other job for ACS updating the policy (business climate) statements. Early next year it will be finalized followed for the approval by the board.

NEXT TELECONFERENCE:

Wednesday, December 18, 2019 12:00 Noon Eastern Time

List of Exec committee and committee chairs



Executive Committee Teleconference Report Wednesday, 2019 November 20 12:00 noon (Eastern Time)

Elected Members

- Chair, Dawn Mason
- <u>Chair-Elect</u>, Diane Schmidt
- Immediate Past-Chair (Nominations and Awards), Arlene Garrison
- Treasurer (2018-2019), Mick Hurrey
- Secretary (2019-2020), Thomas Colacot
- Councilor (2018-2020), Janet Bryant
- Alternate Councilor (2018-2020), Carol Duane

Appointed Members

- <u>Communication</u>, Matthew Grandbois
 - o Jim Tung
- Membership, Lissa Dulany
- Program Chair, Anne DeMasi, LANXESS
 - Judy Cohen

Non-voting

- MMPG rep, Anne DeMasi, LANXESS
- Carol Duane, Regional Meetings chair
- Diane Schmidt, Communications committee and 2019 chair-elect